1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Overclocking problems... PSU limitations?

Hey everyone

It's my first time posting in any forum along with trying to overclock my first custom PC. I have an e6750 2.66ghz C2D that can't go pass 2.80ghz. I see everyone getting that CPU over 3.0ghz which makes it odd for me. So far I think the answer is that my PSU is insufficient. Anyway these are my computer specs.

ocz powerstream 520watt
    evga 7150/630i
    evga 8800gt 512mb
    intel e6750 2.66ghz w/ arctic freezer 7 pro
    2x corsair xms2 1gb ddr2 800
    western digital raptor x
    4x seagate barracuda
    nec nd-3550a dvd-rw drive
    lite-on blu-ray drive
    3x 120mm case fans
    2x 80mm case fans

Further detail is that my CPU runs idle between 35-39 degrees C which I think isn't that high and maybe 5 degrees higher on load. According to eXtreme Power Supply Calculator (google the name to find), I'm running at about 516 watts which is almost at the peak of what my PSU is. It may not be that accurate but it does give me hints that my answer would be to get a better PSU if I want to overclock. If I do need a new power supply, how many watts do you guys think is recommended to be safe? 600w? 700w? 800w? Any answers to what my problem might be which is preventing me from overclocking my CPU higher is appreciated.
  3. Trapped on the forums...help
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

when its the PSU you will know it, most PSUs will refuse to start again after an overload, and the whole system shuts off, if its some other part generally you just fail POST or crash somewhere in the boot and reboot or something

My guess is your hitting the limit of the CPU at that voltage or the RAM is giving out on you, so first try changing the RAM to FSB ratio and/or loosening the timing, the next option would be to try boosting the voltage of the CPU a bit (that is required for any large overclock).