1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Going batty over Georgia font... Opera

I used to be better at this, but never used to care how things looked in other browsers. Now I'm so confused about what I'm doing wrong that I've second-guessing every action I take, and can't make sense of something...

I've got a very simple header-content-footer (footer is essentially header tacked onto bottom) that works more or less how I'd like, but when viewing in Opera 9.5 the Georgia font I'm asking looks utterly crap.

Please have a look at Firefox 3 or IE 6+ for how I want it to look. It's essentially the standard <h1> font setting for most Wordpress templates.

What am I doing wrong???

site -- littlebee.gq.nu

Thank you sincerely for your help. I'm regressing to extreme beginner here -- can't seem to get it to work even when creating a document focusing only on the body and text attributes...
  3. Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

I seem to be rusty with fonts. Can you point out which part is a georgia font? As far as I can see looks fine here. (Footer).
    Use markup the semantic way. You wouldn't want your dog answering the phone for you, would you?
    HTML Validator || CSS Validator -- HTML / CSS Main forums. JavaScript and PHP...maybe
    Bones: HTML; Skin: CSS; Muscle: JavaScript; Brains: PHP; Memory: MySQL
  5. Classical Computing
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

The h1 fonts are in Georgia, and they are a little 'fatter' in Opera. Is that what the problem is? I think each browser has its own way of displaying each font, and there's not much you can do about that. To tell you the truth, it looks fine to me. The headings have the same look in Safari as in Opera, by the way.
  7. Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Ah I see it now. Yes browsers interpret fonts differently, and quite honestly they all look pretty good so I wouldn't fuss over it . However in Opera 9.5, it shows the content being very thin. I would make it a tad wider.