1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Box Shadow Side-Effects and More.

Hello, this is my first post here, so hi everyone!

I have a site I'm working on; http://kcstreetnotes.tv/

I added some box shadow effects to a few sections. I'm having a side effect in one, there appears to be a top-border that is causing a line to overlap on another section.

the footWidgets div is causing the line that is showing in the bottom of the wrapper section.

Here is the code I put in for teh #footWidgets section to make the box-shadow, it's the only way I could get it to work.

Code:
    box-shadow: 6px 0px 10px -5px #888, -6px 0px 10px -5px #888;

I'm new to manipulating CSS so It's been mostly trial and error, and I'm left with these errors I can't resolve.

The other is either the #main or the #menu, I can't seem to get rid of the divide between the two to make is seamless.

Any guidance you can offer would be much appreciated.
  3. For POny!

Hi I assume you just want all the content that from menu till footer to have an outer box-shadow.
    In that case, don't declared it for each item but simply wrap the items in a container div, and apply the box-shadow to that. The nature of the box-shadow will otherwise show gaps since it is not really rectangular but more radial

So the hierachy looks like this
    Code:
    #container
        #topnav
        #header
        #boxshadow_div_wrapper
            #menu
            #main
            #footwidgets
            #footer
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by aeternus
    Hi I assume you just want all the content that from menu till footer to have an outer box-shadow.
    In that case, don't declared it for each item but simply wrap the items in a container div, and apply the box-shadow to that. The nature of the box-shadow will otherwise show gaps since it is not really rectangular but more radial

So the hierachy looks like this
    Code:
    #container
        #topnav
        #header