1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Container background not showing in the iPhone 5 and other mobile devices

The parchment container background (wrap) on this site is not showing up on the iPhone 5, Skyfire Android and possibly other devices.

debbierking.com/hobbitnews

I am hoping someone can help me out here....this is my first attempt at responsive design. Here's my code:

#wrap {
    background: url(../img/wrap-bg.jpg) repeat;
    padding-top: 25px;
    }

#wrap:after {
    content: ".";
    visibility: hidden;
    display: block;
    height: 0;
    clear: both;
    }
  3. For POny!

add
    Code:
    #wrap{overflow:hidden}
    see how that goes. Just make sure you don't declarate any height or width to #wrap or it will be cut off
  5. No Profile Picture

Aeternus,

I can't...using overflow:hidden crops off the date ribbons on the left. That's why I used the pseudo element :after instead.
  7. For POny!

Instead of that, add an extra element to your container just before the bottom.
    oldschool. (instead of pseudo stuf some browsers prolly don't understand)

Code:
       <div class="clear"></div>
    </div> <!-- closing tag #wrap -->

div.clear{height:0;clear:both;}
    Let me know if it works for you.

P.s. Keep in mind browser caching when tweaking. add a $_GET variable to the stylesheet just in case.
    stylesheet.css?v=123
    Last edited by aeternus; September 24th, 2012 at 12:29 PM.
  9. No Profile Picture

I just tried this and the clear class attached to the wrap container in the .php file completely eliminates all the content and background between the header and footer. Did I not do this right?
  11. For POny!

Originally Posted by DesignLady94
    I just tried this and the clear class attached to the wrap container in the .php file completely eliminates all the content and background between the header and footer. Did I not do this right?
    I don't see it on your page, but I am certain you made an error when that happens.