1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

CSS height element question...

I am quite new to CSS despite years of trying to make my own website, know a bit about php

I just have a question about CSS styling, specifically the height element

Is it wrong to specify a height for a div tag? eg so that the page height stops going up and down?
  3. Contributing User

There is nothing wrong with using the height element, that is what it is there for.
  5. Contributing User

Originally Posted by simplypixie
    There is nothing wrong with using the height element, that is what it is there for.
    I was told it is best not to use the height element in college, I don't know if this is because it can conflict with things
  7. Contributing User

Did they tell you why or when not to use it? Or were they just referring to using it for the body?

It really does depend if you do need to use it, if not then rely on the content with padding / margins to set the height of the page.
  9. Contributing User

Vaguely, because in college we were (other students as well) designing some similar to a retail site that everything should fit???

Something like that
  11. Contributing User

Not quite sure what they were supposed to mean by that but, for example, if you have a header on your page with a background image then you have to set the height of the header area to be as big as the background image in order for it all to display. That is unless the content you put in the header area will stretch the header vertically to show the whole background anyway, but even saying that it is wise to set the height to prevent layout problems due to external influences (change of font size by user for example).

Sounds to me like your college tutor didn't know much about what they were talking about I am afraid.
  13. Contributing User

OK, thanks
  15. Contributing User

Ask Why, and then ask why again.

Is applying height used as a replacement for margin or padding?