1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

DIV border - extra bottom space/line in Explorer

Maybe I should be posting this as a reply - this is an UPDATE: I used the WC3 Validator and it found an outright error in my code. So, gosh - ignore the posting below! And, uhm, I think I'll be using that handy-dandy WC3 tool more often....
    ----------
    Okay - I am a CSS dope - I've been using tables and antiquated code for a long time. I'm putting together a dummy site, just for testing, and I'm trying to postiion things with DIVs, etc. Be gentle - I'm 59, and, not that damned smart... I installed Dreamweaver and have been fooling with that as it has a lot of templates with proper CSS, tips, etc. But I've never used it before, so that's another learning curve.

So, I have a page on which there are some DIVs and, in one, there is an extra space - and, an extra bottom border line - in Internet Explorer. I'm not fond of IE, but that isn't the point - a lot of people use it.....and I need to know why this is happening.

Here's a link to an image of what it looks like in Explorer - the line at the bottom is absent in Firefox and Chrome:

Screenshot

The page is just the index page at:
    GuyMerritt.net

The CSS files looks like this:

Code:
    body {
    margin: 0 0 0 0;
    background: #FEFEEC;
    height: 1000px;
    background: #F9F9EE;
    }
    h2 {font-family: tahoma; font-size: 12px; font-weight: normal; padding-left: 5px; padding-right: 8px; color: #777772;}
    #header {height: 220px; background: url(../images/header_graphics.jpg); }
    #left-sidebar {
    float:left;
    width:20%;
    padding-left: 20px;
    }
    #right-sidebar {
    float:right;
    width:20%;
    padding-right: 20px;
    }
    #main-content {width: 54%;float: left;padding-top: 0px;
    }
    .sidebars-2 #content {
    width: 54%;float: left;padding-top: 10px;
    }
    #box {
    border-style: solid;
    border-width: .05em;
    font-family: arial;