1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Horizontal Nav Bar Submenu Behavior

Hello everyone! Below is some code I have been working on. I am relatively new to webpage design, but I think I have a decent grasp on HTML and CSS. I have stared at this code on my notepad for hours trying to get it to do what I want it to. I would appreciate any insight on this problem. Thanks for reading!

I have almost everything the way i want it, except when I hover over a link in my menu it pushes the rest of my page content down. I would like my submenu to overlap other content on my page when I hover over it. I believe that the float selector might be causing the issue here. I think this because I have designed my entire page using floats.

I am building the webpage on my computer, using Notepad++ to design it and Mozilla Firefox v16.01 to view it. My goal here isn't to make it cross compatible on all browsing platforms. My goal here is to simply learn the basics of how CSS works. I am wary to post the full code here, because of it's size. I can and will post my entire code here if it will help. Honestly, it isn't that big, but I will hold back unless it is needed. I have read the posting rules and am hoping that I have submitted my post correctly. If not I'm sorry.

-up until now