Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. The Queen of Typos
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

Opera Overflow Support

Just curious if anyone has any resources that explain what type of overflow attributes Opera supports.

I'm working on a site right now and see that in Opera "overflow: auto" is not supported. Is there a known work around?

I am using Opera 9.25

Thanks!
    Last edited by elkehinze; May 8th, 2008 at 07:52 PM. Reason: edited because I meant auto not scroll
  3. Classical Computing
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

I am quite new to css, and was surprised to hear you say scroll was unsupported in Opera. I made up a little experiment to test it out, and I can assure you overflow: scroll works perfectly in Opera.

Are you sure you got the css syntax right? I just used this for my experiment:

{width: 200px; height: 200px; overflow: scroll;}

Then I dumped a whole bunch of text into the div to force it to overflow. No problems.

You can check your syntax with the w3c css validator [type "css validator" into Google]. This will quickly show up any css faults.

I use Opera for Mac (version 9.01), but Opera is supposed to be very standards compliant, so should work on Windows too.

Hope that helps. Let me know if you'd like the full code of my experiment.
  5. The Queen of Typos

Let me rephrase that, Opera does not support overflow: auto; The text just continues out of the container.

I understand all about CSS and validation, I've been using it for many years now. I am new to ensuring that my sites work in opera.
  7. Classical Computing

Hmmm, I changed the css to {overflow: auto} and it had the same effect as {overflow: scroll} in Opera. Certainly the text was all contained within the container and I had to scroll to see it all.

O well, perhaps I am missing the point, but it seems to work on a Mac...
  9. The Queen of Typos

I'm using Opera for windows.
  11. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Hi,