1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

using CSS in a blog (movable type)

I'm using the Movable Type publishing software for my blog and am realizing it uses CSS 2 very heavily in its formatting. I have a lot of experience with CSS 1 but I still haven't broken out of using tables to control the layout of sites I build. I was wondering if someone could give me a hand with a question about what I'd like to accomplish...

What I'd like to do is be able to put one of the div's (the one storing all the blog content) on the left hand side, filling about 70% of the screen, and then put all the div's after it (links, search, syndicate, etc etc) on the right hand side occupying the other 30%. I could do it easily with a table but I'd like to avoid spoiling the very pure CSS implementation that's in place.

Is this possible to do with just CSS, or is this the kind of situation that CSS wasn't meant for? Thanks a lot!
  3. No Profile Picture
    CF sMod

float: left;

The thing you want on the left, and

float: right;

The thing you want on the right.
    Jason Contact Me
    Super moderator @ CodingForums
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

That works okay as far as putting them on the right and left side, but it seems that most of the time the item on the right sits beneath the item on the left. In the document, the left item comes before the right item, and I use the styles like so:

Code:
    #content
    {
    float: left;
    width: 70%;
    }

#links
    {
    float: right;
    width: 30%;
    }
    Any pointers? The document and stylesheet are at:

http://www.cliffmeyers.com/blog/
    http://www.cliffmeyers.com/blog/styles-site.css
  7. No Profile Picture