1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Linking an external CSS stylesheet to a Perl generated HTML document

G'day sports ...

I've had a look-see on the internet for an answer to this, and I haven't found one yet, so maybe you can help. I have installed a guestbook at my site, which uses Perl (it was an 'off-the-shelf' one from here). The problem is that I can link the guestbook pages to the site stylesheet, but when you add to the guestbook it generates a very plain looking [i.e. unformatted] confirmation page that looks very out of place. My question is, therefore, how (and I'm assuming that it's possible) do you link a perl generated webpage to an external CSS document, so that it's formatted to look the same as the rest of the site?

I am new to perl (i.e. have no knowledge of it), but would assume that the relevant part of the script involves the 'print' command. I don't have the script to hand, but the instructions are along a similar line to this ...

PHP Code:
      print "Content-type: text/html\n\n";

print 
    "<html>\n <head>\n  <title>Results of Search</title>\n </head>\n";

print 
    "<body bgcolor=\"WHITE\">\n <center>\n  <h1>Results of Search in $title</h1>\n </center>\n";

print 
    "Below are the results of your Search in no particular order:<p><hr size=7 width=75%><p>\n"
    ... and that the link to the external stylesheet would go in there somewhere. Any suggestions will be gratefully received, and aplogies if I'm missing anything obvious.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

A link to an external stylesheet goes into the <head>, doesn't it? I would think that if you just put print in front of the necessary tags that specify the external stylesheet, then it should work, since it knows that it is html.

Try putting the stylesheet reference into the appropriate place with the print command in front of it, it ought to work that way.
  5. No Profile Picture