1. Big Daddy
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

HTML & CSS site sizing problem

Hi all,

I am fairly new to HTML and CSS in general, but I know the basics. Can you guys help?

I am building a website for my family (nothing major) and one of the areas is for my son. I am building it now. It's here. Oh, you'll need a username and password to get in there:

username:
    password:

Sorry, I wanna keep out the riff-raff. You guys have been great for questions of mine in the past, and I trust the peeps on this site!

Anyway, the first thing I was wondering is this: Is it possible to have the image resize through CSS to fit the area it's in? If not, that's ok, not a big deal. One thing that is really bugging me, though is this. In IE, the page does not fit on one screen, although I would like it to, and there's no reason why it shouldn't. In IE, it is scrollable downward. What's more strange is that in NS and Opera, it can't scroll down, but it can scroll left and right! Also, in NS, all 8 links are on the left, instead of 4 on each side. In Opera, the layout is fine (except for the scrolling), but there's no image! There's no image in NS, either! There are none of these problems in IE (except that the window can scroll down). I have attached my CSS file to let you all take a gander. Can you explain it? I'm sure it's pretty easy, but I just don't see it...

Also, as you'll see, I am not doing anything "hardcore" in CSS. I think this is all pretty basic stuff, so why does it act so very differently between browsers? Is the CSS support really this bad in NS and Opera? It can't be! I have found a few things I can "set" in Opera and NS on how to handle CSS, but it didn't really make any differences.

Can I get the image to fit and fill up the area it's in?
    How can I get this site to fit on one screen on almost ANY size monitor?
    How can I get this working uniformly on all browsers?