1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

css problem with layout

Hi,

I'm a completely newbie with css, and am trying to layout a page using it. I'm having a lot of trouble getting the layout to work in both Moz and IE (either it works in one or it works in the other). I've read about the box-model bug, and I don't think that's the problem, and I've looked it over and tweaked it a lot and am unable to fix the problems. So I'm hoping someone here can give me a hand.

My attempt is up at http://www.mylittlesoapbox.com/test/index.html

The css for that is http://www.mylittlesoapbox.com/test/danaae.css

The two glaring problems are that:

1) In Moz the menu bar on the left overlaps the green color box. I have absolutely no idea why this is happening. I can push it further down using a bigger margin-top, but then in IE it is way too far down.

2) The second problem is that the entire central and right columns seem to be pushed over 8pixels too far--yet when I try to fix this all sorts of horrible things happen (if I add a negative margin, the right column instead goes to the bottom of the central column).

I'm sorry I've just attached links rather than snippets of code, but I really have no idea what might be the problem. I've tried commenting out chunks to see what is causing it, but I still can't seem to get to the bottom of it.

Thanks for your help!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

1) The only this that I can suggest is in your css you have the position:relative in believe in IE and Mozilla take their relative points differently.

In IE it would take it from the bottom right hand corner of the green rectangle where as in Mozilla it will take it from the top right, causing a difference in positioning. try changing your position to absolute, you will need to do a few changes to the left and top positioning to get them where they was.