1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Total Newbe Needs Help with Gradients in IE 10

Help! I'm a total Newbie when it comes to CSS and I need some help.

Our office is currently on IE8 but there are a few exceptions where IE 10 is deployed. In a number of applications the orignal developer had the following line of code:

body {
    font-family:arial;
    font-size:10;color:WHITE;
    filterrogidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Gradient(GradientType=0, StartColorStr=#579B60, EndColorStr=#204A34)
    }

I know from what I've read you need different lines of code for different browsers and different versions of IE to render the gradient in that browser however I have tried numerious things and I cannot render the gradient in IE 10. From what I read I thought that all I needed to do was add the two following lines of code to the above:

background-image: -ms-linear-gradient(top, #579B60, #204A34);
    background-image: linear-gradient(top, #579B60, #204A34);

Unfortunately neither works and all I get is white text on a white background instead of white text on a green gradient background.

Can anyone provide me with the needed code to make the top to bottom gradient work in ie 10?

Thanks!
  3. CSS & JS/DOM Adept
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

The "to" keyword is missing from the last declaration:
    Code:
    background-image: linear-gradient(to top, #579B60, #204A34);
    I suggest you open IE10's developer tools and check which rendering mode it's using. It may automatically be switching to one of its compatibility modes instead of using its "Standards mode".
    Spreading knowledge, one newbie at a time.

Check out my blog. | Learn CSS. | PHP includes | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator | Common CSS Mistakes | Common JS Mistakes

Remember people spend most of their time on other people's sites (so don't violate web design conventions).
  5. No Profile Picture

Everyone: