1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Dealing with different screen resolutions?

Hello there,

I'm fairly new to website design and I was wondering if anyone here would be so kind as to explain how or link me with some information on how to work with different resolutions in CSS. I'm having trouble positioning images and how they appear in resolutions that are not 1920 x 1080.

If I change resolution on my computer to see how the page is displayed in different resolutions the images on the website appear displaced like so:

My View (1920x1080): Gyazo - 2c32815040b92435b9bb0667c6a5a324.png

Different Resolution (1600x900): Gyazo - 8c6e6b3972385ab78386f36ea6c26e75.png

I've read that maybe liquid/fluid layouts maybe be a potential fix? I've also read about putting images in a container, but I'm not quite sure how. I don't suppose you could link me to some decent articles on how I could achieve this?

Thanks for your help.
  3. A Not To Shabby Code Smurf
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

The most modern technique for what your wanting to do is called "media queries". Do an online search for this and you should get several examples and/or ideas on how to make your site multi-resolution friendly.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by web_loone08
    The most modern technique for what your wanting to do is called "media queries". Do an online search for this and you should get several examples and/or ideas on how to make your site multi-resolution friendly.
    Thanks for the reply, just as I checked this thread I was reading some articles on Media Queries.
  7. No Profile Picture

When dealing with different kinds of screen resolutions, the responsive layout is the safest option. This is achieved using @media in your css and adding a Viewport Meta tag in the <head> section
    Last edited by Nilpo; January 12th, 2015 at 02:33 PM.
  9. Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)