1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

scaling and zoom

hello, i have an issue with scaling that i cannot resolve.

not to be melodramatic but an explanation is necessary for those that may not fully understand this problem. I've been using internet since 1996. I remember when there was no Google (msn search and altavista were popular outside of Yahoo! web directory.) I remember many things from back then. Anyway, up until Windows 8, i believe, webpages were 100% zoom or actual size. I didn't have a Windows 7 until 5 years ago, then i bought a laptop with Windows 8, then i bought 8.1 pro. Everything is not 100% by default. Web pages are scaled or zoomed to 125%. Even when the browser reports 100%. My images look awful because they are scaled. I cannot find a way to make it 100%. I found a hack on Windows 10 that works but it is not legal html/css. I use the css zoom in the html element.

my css file:
    html { zoom: 0.8; }

does anyone know how to control this? it pisses me off. I don't want my webpages to be scaled beyond 100%. atleast Windows 10 shows the zoom default to be 125% but I cannot get it zoomed to 100% without the html hack. Please help. There must be a way to do this.
  3. Wiser? Not exactly.
    Devshed God 2nd Plane (6000 - 6499 posts)

Pages are not scaled to 125%. Not sure where you're getting that idea from. Either you increased the zoom on your browser or something else is doing it for you.

Given your talk about windows, I suspect you might be talking about the scaling feature built into windows. If so, this has nothing to do with your browser/page/etc nor is it something you can control nor is it something you should try to compensate for. It's a feature of windows so that people with large or high resolution screens can scale things up to make things easier to use. For example I use it on my HTPC because otherwise a lot of programs are simply unreadable on the TV because the UI/Font is too small.