1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

need some advice

I am using Oracle 8 as a database and have it running on an NT box. All the clients run Win98. I would like to convert this database to mySQL and move to a web based solution and eliminate the client server environment. I have remote locations. I have about 120,000 records in the Oracle DB. I do not know if this is a huge task or not. Comments would be appreciated. I am a novice and am just beginning to put my thoughts together as how I will pull this off.
    Thanks
  3. No Profile Picture
    Gödelian monster
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

My main caution here is that you will be astonished at the number of abilities in Oracle that MySQL does not support. Mainly these are things regarding database constraints and relational methods. No views, triggers, stored procedures, CHECK constraints, schema, domain, etc...

Now, if you are not using any of these in your Oracle DB, then it might not be so difficult to move to MySQL. But really, for a database of any complexity at all, these relational methods are lifesavers. If your database of 120,000 records is mission-critical in any way, I would recommend you think about this.

And, I would seriously recommend you consider one of the other open source database systems, which support more of the standard relational methods and constraints. The three I know of are as follows:

PostgreSQL (very mature project, stemming from Berkeley research and Ingres)
    Firebird (open source version of Interbase)
    SAP DB (open source version of SAP/Peoplesoft DB)

From what I have seen so far, PostgreSQL is the system that is most similar to Oracle, even supporting Schema and Domain, as well as most of the ANSI-standard SQL constructs. (MySQL's SQL deviates significantly from the ANSI standard) It will take a little more work to learn, but it really is a nice system.