1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

New to databasing... please advise

I am in the process of starting a rental listings, roommate refferals, singles listings website. I have no prior web/database experience. Could anyone please advise me where to start?
    Thank you !!!!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

You really sure you want to do this yourself? What you're talking about would require a tremendous commitment of time and effort. It seems strange to me that an individual with no previous web/database experience (or did you mean web-database?) would suddenly want to try to construct a data driven website. I don't know what your background is, but have you considered hiring a qualified developer?
  5. No Profile Picture

Thank you for your reply

Thank you JMM for your reply. To answer your questions:

Yes, I'm sure I would like to do this myself, right now I have the time and a strong willingness to develop a new skill. Databasing is very interesting to me.

I'm am in the process of developing a small business on a shoestring buget, so hiring a professional is not an option.

Basically I just need to know where to start (given the type of site I am trying to start)... classes to take, books to read, etc...

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

OK. I meant no disrespect, I was just skeptical.

If you can fill us in a little more we can give you some better feedback.

Please summarize your web experience/skills:

Please summarize your database experience/skills:
  9. No Profile Picture

Hi JMM....

No sweat, didn't think you meant any disrespect.

Web experience: Beginner level html.

Database experience: Beginner level access.