1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Deperate need of help for Access 2003 queryNewbie

Really sorry if this is posted in the wrong place, but I a at my wits end.

Using Access 2003 I have a database that holds unique records for learners - Ethnicity, Learner_id (User) table and the courses that they have enroled on (Course_Information) table. These courses (Course) table are sperated into four Areas of Learning (Area of Learning) table, Vocational, Non-Vocational, Essential Skills and Employability.

I have to create a query that will count the number of unique learner codes that apper in a Course_Information Table, between two entered dates, looks up that learners Ethnicity Code from a User table and shows fo each Area of Learning how many learners of each ethnic code attend courses.

I am not an SQL programmer and I have managed to come up with the code below.

SELECT DISTINCTROW Ethnicity.Ethnic_Code, [Start] AS BeginDate, [End] AS EndingDate,

IIf(Area_Of_Learning.Area_Of_Learning='Vocational' ,Count(DISTINCT learner_id) AS Vocational FROM Course_Information,0),
    IIf(Area_Of_Learning.Area_Of_Learning='Employabili ty',Count(DISTINCT learner_id) AS Employability FROM Course_Information,0),
    IIf(Area_Of_Learning.Area_Of_Learning='Non-vocational',Count(DISTINCT learner_id) AS Non_vocational FROM Course_Information,0),
    IIf(Area_Of_Learning.Area_Of_Learning='Essential Skills',Count(DISTINCT learner_id),0) AS Essential_Skills FROM Course_Information,0),

FROM Area_Of_Learning INNER JOIN (((Course_Information INNER JOIN Course ON Course_Information.Course_code = Course.Course_Code) INNER JOIN [User] ON Course_Information.Learner_id = User.Learner_ID) INNER JOIN Ethnicity ON User.Ethnicity = Ethnicity.Ethnic_Code) ON Area_Of_Learning.Area_Learning_ID = Course.Area_Learning_ID

WHERE (((Course_Information.Start_date) Between [Start] And [End]))