1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Ms Access Xp - Aotu Fill Of Fields In Form On Certain Criteria

Please help me, i am new to db, I am still trying to finish a db for my school who will be hosting the inter-school atheletic meet. I have 3 table:-

tblStudents : id, name, paricipant no, division, and checkboxs for events 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 4 x 100m relay, high jump. and empty feilds for event no, heats no, lane no.

tblDivision : division id, Boys1, Boys2, Boy3, Girls1, Girls2, Girls3

tblSchools : school id, school name, tel. no.

i have made individual query to sort students taking part in for every event.

I have a form for each query, with the empty feilds too.

for eg. the form will show records for students in event 100m sorted by each division. Then 1 filter by say Boys1,
    it shows 25 students taking part.
    Now i have to type in the event no. in one coloum for all records which is the same. Is ther a way to just fill once and it automatically fills the rest.

Next, i have to divide the 25 students in to heats, not more than 8 per heat. and fill in the coloum for heats as Heat1 for 7 students,Heat2 for another 6 students,Heat3 for another 6 students & Heat4 another 6 students for a event distribution. Only one creteria no two schools can be in the same heat.
    Arter which i will have to assing the lane for students of the individual heats.

Is there a way this second part be done by access by itself.

Very sorry for the long text, I would appreciate if anyone can try my db & can anyone chat to me too on this matter as i am learning the basics. My thanks in advance.
  3. mod_dev_shed
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Is ther a way to just fill once and it automatically fills the rest.
    You can use an Update Query. Basically you'll update a particular field with a specified value based on certain conditions.