1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

MySQL and postgreSQL on same box??

I'm relatively new to the database game and have been using AMP on an OS X 10.2 box as my learning platform. The application I'm currently building would benefit from features found in postgreSQL, like foreign key constrains, views, cascading referrences, etc. So, I'm wondering if I can install both MySQL and postgreSQL on the same box?

My concern is how will PHP know what Db to use when passing queries? I've never had to do any configuration for PHP and MySQL to play nicely together -- it's just always worked. Would I need to do something special to the PHP conf file, or is it even possible?

URLs with info on this would be great (already tried a google search without much luck).

Thanks much.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Gödelian monster
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Re: MySQL and postgreSQL on same box??

Originally posted by pjstroud

My concern is how will PHP know what Db to use when passing queries?
    PHP has different APIs for different database systems, so when you use a function from the PostgreSQL API, it will connect to the available PostgreSQL database server.

Now, if you are using one of the databse abstraction libraries for PHP, then the choice of API is hidden inside the library. In this case, you would need to know how to configure your access to that library to choose between database systems.

There is no problem running PostgreSQL and MySQL on the same server; I do it all the time . There is no conflict, because by default, MySQL uses HTTP port 3306 (AFAIK), while PostgreSQL defaults to port 5432. The only thing to remember is not to attempt configuring both MySQL and PostgreSQL to serve on the same port.