1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

n:m table relations

I'm new to database modeling, and currently using a visual tool called DBDesigner 4 to handle database creation.

Let me just explain what I have, what I'm trying to achieve, then explain what I'm doing and ask if I'm on the right track or not.

Here's what I'm doing:
    I want to make a table, InventoryTable - it gets it's unique, primary key from several seperate tables: products (which contains the prodID, prod_name, prod_styleNum, prod_costprice and a FK (catID) to a categories table), colors (colorID), sizes (sizeID) and has a fields of qty and sellprice in the actual table.

I can do that, no problem, and the color and sizes for the products are seperate tables in n:m non-identifying relationships (which I'm not quite sure what that means, but it's basically a junction table that allows a product to have many colors from the colors table, and allows those colors to be selectable by many products (right?))

Now, I'm not sure if I can use this same type of relationship for what I want to do next:

I'm creating a saleTransactions table and an Invoice (basically sale order) table where the Invoice has several saleTransactions, where a saleTransaction is 1 row of the invoice (like, x products of y color and z size for i rate yields i*x amount), and the entire set of m saleTransactions yields the invoice_total.

Basically an invoice --
    [ Sale No. <uniqueSaleId> on: <timestamp> to <custID> ]
    [ X product Color: y Size: Z Rate: I Amount: <i*x> ]
    [ A product Color: B Size: C Rate: J Amount: <j*a> ]
    [ Invoice Total: < <i*x> + <j*a> > ]

[ X product Color: y Size: Z Rate: I Amount: <i*x> ] was a row from the SaleTransaction generated by the Inventory table (that's done application-side)