1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

DAtabase and data fields

Hello,

my name is Igor, i'm an young programmer in sens that are few times that i programming for work.

I have an question on database's fields. I have an field defined by integer where i want put an number with 7 digits but the program raise error.

Integer is 32 bit, i don't understand why i can't put a number higher than 999999.

I check but i haven't find control on the entered values.

There are an database limitation?
    How can i do to solve my problem?

the code is very long and isn't written by me, i have to made only a modification for the client.

Thanks you a lot.

Igor
  3. No Profile Picture

Sorry,

a small clarification, the error is displayed: "Maximum valididy check failed, field: 'Reference' ".

Thanks you

Igor
  5. No Profile Picture

No ideas for me?

Help
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

You first need to figure out which layer (application, database) is responsible for raising the error.

A quick check would be to add a row to the table directly through the database interface (if you use Oracle - use SQL Plus, if MS Access, open access and attempt to add a row to the table etc...).

If you get this error when you try to enter the value directly through your database interface, then the database layer is responsible, if not, more than likely the Delphi application has some code doing data integrity checks BEFORE posting to the table.
  9. No Profile Picture

First of all thanks for the reply.

I understand that the database is Paradox, and I looked for a program with which i can open and i havo downloaded a "Paradox data editor".

Also with this program when i try to put an reference with 7 digits raise error "maximum validity check failed field reference".

Can i tell that the problem is a database?