1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Delphi professional and MS Access

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Delphi, I've used the standard version but am thinking of upgrading to the professional.

My question is when you develop a database application in professional and you use an MS Access database to hold your tables, does the computer you deploy the application to require MS Access to be installed?

Any info would be appreciated.
    :-)
  3. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    You don't need the entire Access package to be installed, but just the MS Access drivers to connect to an access database. Have no fear though, Delphi professional comes with Installshield IIRC, which allows you to package your executable and drivers in one package, so you can deploy the whole thing in one bundle.
    Up the Irons
    What Would Jimi Do? Smash amps. Burn guitar. Take the groupies home.
    "Death Before Dishonour, my Friends!!" - Bruce D ickinson, Iron Maiden Aug 20, 2005 @ OzzFest
    Down with Sharon Osbourne

"I wouldn't hire a butcher to fix my car. I also wouldn't hire a marketing firm to build my website." - Nilpo
  5. No Profile Picture

If you use KADao, a free MS Access DAO tool [search it in google and it's the top link] you can create your database as you would normally and publish your program with just the .exe and the .mdb! Simple. No more "required files".
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Hi all,

Thanks for the replies, I've only now seen them as for some reason the email address I used for the account wasn't receiving notifications from this forum, or anywhere else come to that!