Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Passing a TStringList to a function

Hello, I am quite new to Delphi, so please be gentle, as they say :-)

I am trying to write code for a stand-alone unit (a function) to be used in different programs. I need to pass a TSrtingList to this function. Here is the code for this unit. The problem is that every occurrence of "TStringList" is apparently an error: "Undeclared identifier 'TStrngList' at line ..." What am I doing wrong?

Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks very much!

unit CountGaps;
    interface
    function CountNumGaps(OriAlignment: TStringList): integer;
    implementation
    var
    I, J, K, Len, NumSeqs, NumDashes: integer;
    Seq: string;
    Nuc: Char;
    SeqsList: TStringList;
    begin
    end;
    end;
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

TStringList is defined in the classes unit.

It looks as if you have not added this unit to your interface uses clause.

Clive
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by clivew
    TStringList is defined in the classes unit.

It looks as if you have not added this unit to your interface uses clause.

Clive
    Thanks very much, Clive. Appreciate it. I had to play around a bit - and finally got it to work after I put the term "Classes" AND the declaration of the function under "uses" like so:

unit CountGaps;

interface

uses
    Classes;

implementation

var
    //
    begin
    //
    end;