1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Looking for some program architecting advice

Hey everyone,

I was wondering if someone can help me out here.

I'm an old school hobbyist programmer (basic, vb, delphi). I'm what you call dangerous, I know enough to write code but not well enough to handle threading etc.

In any case this is what I need help with.

I want to write an application that downloads a list of pictures and data from a web server and display it on a TV monitor in a nice friendly manner.

My problem is this. I don't know which method is best to design the app.

Should I be creating a "service" to do the downloading and importing into a database every so often and just get the program to display the info? I've never really created a service so not sure where to start.

Should I just get the app to spawn a thread to do the downloading and importing into the database. How do I make sure that the thread doesn't kill my app if something during the download process fails.

As you know the internet is unreliable and I don't want anything such as timeouts, bad downloads etc affecting the displaying of the pics and data.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  3. No Profile Picture

Seriously? No one?

Just point me the write direction. I would really appreciate it.

Please.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

This is a fairly difficult question to give an answer to since there's many different valid approaches, given that, here's my 2 cents..

Building a Windows Service to download the files seems like a reasonable approach. If you need some help on how to design such an application, I suggest you read this

http://www.tolderlund.eu/delphi/service/service.htm