1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Is Delphi going to be outdated?

Before I start I want to mention that I have never used Delphi before. I am currently working as a .NET programmer and I am looking for some information on Delphi.

To begin with, the company I work with uses a software that is entire written in Delphi. The issue is, the software company has shutdown and we do not have any support for the software issues anymore.

Now, my company is looking for an answer as to whether it is a good option to re-write the entire software or should we just keep making changes to the software using Delphi (The software company, before shutting down, provided all the licensees with the source code and all the rights)

What I am looking for is pro's of using Delphi for long run (3-5 years from now)

Any help/suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you in advance
  3. No Profile Picture

I dunno but I will be using it for a long long time yet. It's far superior in terms of syntax and ease of use to that bloated mess C and other languages. It does what I need it to do with the minimal of fuss, and I can create some nice 2D games in it using Asphyre engine.

Delphi should be good for a while yet.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I think Delphi will be around for quite a while still. Been using delphi for more than 10 years and have been able to achieve all our goals thus far. Older delphi's dont have 64bit compilation support, but thats in the newer versions now. Full object orientated programming, easy to write services and the footprint of your application is small (very small).

Your future on the project would be determined by your goals with it - if you just plan to maintain it then (i think) delphi would remain a good choice (vs the cost of rewriting it). Especially if you already have the licenses.