1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need advice from Web Developers with experience

Hello everyone,

I could really use some advice from someone who has any experiences in doing contract work as a web developer. Before I get to specifics I'll give you some background on me (since I am new to this forum).

I am a comp sci student in my second year of university and I recently started a work term. Basically I was hired to make a dynamic website for the faculty of education at the university that I am enrolled. Well, not long ago someone took notice of my work and wanted me to develop a website for them and I said "that would be great". It is a basic html and css site, simple and they already had all the content written up. Well I got the design done, approved, and then it happened.. They said nonchalantly in an email "Oh, and my office staff only know how to use contribute so build it using a language that can be modified by Contribute."
    The reason this scared me is that I am a web development noob and cms software is new territory for me, and something I've never even looked into before. Oh and even more important then that is that I do not own it and to put it into perspective the software costs 1/3 of what they are paying me to make the site and even that probably won't cover the time it will take. This is where I need an opinion. What should I do? Tell the client I can't fulfill that request unless they buy me the software? Give the client a list of cheap alternatives and include training for their support staff, or at least write up a tutorial for them? I'm not sure what to do. I appreciate any advice you can give me.

[short: Client sprung on me that the project needs to use Adobe Contribute, I don't own it, can't afford it, nor have I ever used cms software. Any advice?]

P.S : I am not sure if this is the appropriate place for this thread, I am sorry if that is the case.

Thanks in advance,
    ~WickerBorn
  3. CSS & JS/DOM Adept