|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |||||||||
|
|
|
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Anyone know how this type of spam is accomplished?
Well, I am curious - I get really frustrated when I recieve spam in my inbox, and furious when I can't blow it back to them....
Check out this header -> Code:
Return-Path: <bobbysandon@mail.com> Delivered-To: webmaster@xuldeveloper.com Received: (qmail 9047 invoked from network); 24 Nov 2002 03:39:55 -0000 Received: from unknown (HELO bulk.com) (200.73.181.139) by imedia-solutions.com with SMTP; 24 Nov 2002 03:39:55 -0000 From: bobbysandon@mail.com To: landracanton@consultant.com MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="qsender"; Subject: Re: Internet Account Now, the to address is not my address, and not on my server - but for some reason the mail was delivered to me (the delivered to address) - is this a mistake or creative spam? Any insight on how to combat this would be appreciated......
__________________
~ Joe Penn |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
if you are not landracanton@consultant.com, this has to be a misconfigured mail server (imedia-solutions.com). very common and very likely here since it was also open for spamming.
on the other hand, the message could have been modified locally, maybe the spam did not really come this way... do you have your own mail server running? and does any of the addresses in the headers belong to you?
__________________
-- Manuel Hirsch - Linux, FreeBSD, programming, administration articles, tutorials and more. |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
Yes, the server I lease is a dedicated server -> imedia-solutions.com and is one of our domains. One of the temp sites on the server is xuldeveloper.com which is also a domain owned by us. This just looks really strange as the spam was a bulk spam, the add was 'Mail your add to 12 million plus domains for $199.00'.
I just wanna make sure that this is a mistake and not something common that is starting to pop up to where I would feel obligated to report it. Or maybe I should just report it anyways? |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Could it be just BCC'ed to you and all the other people.... it maybe that they just put that address in there instead of Undisclosed Recipients
|
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
check if your mail server is open to relay spam. one site that does it for you is here: http://www.paladincorp.com.au/unix/spam/spamlart/
but you can do a simple test: # telnet localhost 25 helo nowhere.com - here your mailserver has to refuse the connection since your request is not originating from "nowhere.com" mail from: noone@nowhere.com - again, this must show an error message. for the reporting: try it. but to whom? and who does really care? - do it anyway, sometimes admins do show responsibility. |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
That address in the To: field may also be a mailing list filled with thousands and thousands of addresses, including yours.
I get stuff like that all the time. I feel your pain. |
![]() |
| Viewing: Dev Shed Forums > Other > Dev Shed Lounge > Anyone know how this type of spam is accomplished? |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
|
|
|