1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Best book to learn PHP and JS from?

I know there are a lot of resources online but I've never been one who could learn from online texts. I get distracted, I move too quickly, nothing sticks, it's just a mess.

So, to that end, I'm looking for a book or two to help me on my way. I know HTML, CSS, and Java fairly well but I have no JavaScript or PHP experience. I've looked at a number of books but obviously I can't link them given how new I am. But I looked at one by The Missing Manual and QuickPro as well as a few others. But then a friend showed me one in the Animal Guide series that contains PHP, MYSQL, and JavaScript all in one guide. But that makes me wonder... would it be better to get two books rather than one, would there be more information that way? And the Animal Guide one was published sometime in 2009 or 2010...a new edition is coming out in September but has enough changed that I should wait or would it be a waste of time? I want something up to date but I also kind of need something sooner than September so I'm trying to balance the two...

I probably seem somewhat OCD but I hate spending money stupidly and these aren't cheap. Any opinion on texts would be much appreciated!
  3. Banned (not really)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

My opion... you know how that goes...

I'd say that because PHP, MySQL and JS are so intertwined at times, a book that covers all three would be ideal. I'm assuming the projects / examples in the book would build on individual parts first, then teach how to tie them all together. After your familiarized with everything, then I'd go with specialized books on each subject to deepen you understanding of the languages/programs.

That being said, I have zero familiarity with any of the book series, so someone else will have to weigh in on that.

-John

Comments on this post

• Bitrush agrees : Thank you for the help!
    -- Cigars, whiskey and wild, wild women. --