1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need Career Advice

Hi

I have a question for employers or anyone else who might have anything useful to contribute...

I have a Bachelors in Computer Science from another country. I worked as a software engineer (primarily in Java) for a couple of years and then I stopped working and started a family. I am in USA now and I haven't worked in 10 years. I still have a couple of years before I can start working again. My question is, is there any chance for me to get a job at an entry level as a software engineer or should I use this time to study and choose some other profession? Or are there any certifications that I can do now so I can possibly work as a software engineer again in a couple of years? Most entry level jobs require fresh graduates. So I'm wondering if my degree counts at all when it comes to getting a job or will I be better off studying something else all over again?

Thanks
  3. 'fie' on me, allege-dly
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

I'd start by suggesting that 'entry-level' is a cost concern for the employer, rather than an ageist policy, as most countries would not permit such policies by law

Sharpen your skills (open source projects if you enjoy politics), and try a few interviews, nothing set in stone that you have to take the gig, if successful, and you could use the experience to determine exactly what real world employers are after

Just my 0.02
    --Ax
    without exception, there is no rule ...
    Handmade Irish Jewellery
    Targeted Advertising Cookie Optout (TACO) extension for Firefox
    The great thing about Object Oriented code is that it can make small, simple problems look like large, complex ones

09 F9 11 02
    9D 74 E3 5B
    D8 41 56 C5
    63 56 88 C0
    Some people, when confronted with a problem, think "I know, I'll use regular expressions." Now they have two problems.
    -- Jamie Zawinski