Thread: Career Change

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Career Change

I'll make this brief because I don't want to waste anyone's time but I'm trying to get ahead. My name is Dave. I am 29 years old and I've spent almost a decade doing internet/performance marketing. A few months ago, I burned out and decided that it was time to have a real career, and I started coding with my brother, who himself is a programmer. For the past 3 months, I've been learning and doing c#/mysql/mssql/ javascript and css but as of a few weeks ago, I've had the most success with sql and decided to focus mostly on that rather than a combination of c#/sql. It is my intention to get a junior or entry level sql position at the start of 2014, which pretty much gives me 1 year of some kind of sql experience. Right now I work mostly with mysql but am already transitioning to MS sql and plan on getting MCSA sql 2012 certification by the end of the year or beginning of 2014. I was wondering if anyone was familiar with any kind of SQL internships or part time jobs in south florida or anywhere I can work remotely, so that I can just throw myself into the mix, gain experience, and go from there. I would appreciate any help.
  3. No Profile Picture

bump
  5. Contributing User

Some advice, would be try to learn anything for MySql Opensource up to 5.5, and MariaDb 10.0.1 (also open source) and PostgreSQL 9.3 (also open sorce and alot like oracle Standard 11.2.0.3 db). Plus learn Linux RedHat/SUSE, and pick up Bash shell scripting, as well as Python 2 and 3, Java, XML, and maybe Perl. The key here is to try to get a working knowlegde of all of these different resources/programs/languages/etc so when you go apply you can get your foot in the door.
  7. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by ByGoneYrs