1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Conscious Decision to not Support IE

I've been developing software for over 25 years and have been doing web development for the past 10. I'm an entrepreneur with several web services, some commercial, some not. While putting together a new service this week, non-commerical, I reached my breaking point with Internet Explorer and made a conscious decision to just not support it with this latest site. It just sucks up too much of my time. So now when users log into my site using IE they will see a message, which I couldn't post a link to.

I'm not forcing my users to use another browser to view my site, simply informing them that IE isn't specifically supported and then I encourage them to try another browser, explaining the benefits.

I'd like to try to turn this into a movement. I've already registered a domain name to support it. I understand that commercial sites' survival probably depend on supporting IE, but there are a lot of sites out there that aren't commercial that could help.

Am I wrong in thinking that the majority of web developers out there feel the same way as I do?

Am I naive in thinking that web developers could actually make a difference by educating the web browsing public?

What do you think?

Thanks for your time.
  3. Banned (not really)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Is this all versions of IE or were you trying to cater to older versions?
    -- Cigars, whiskey and wild, wild women. --
  5. Type Cast Exception