1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

At a crossroads. Need career advice! (long)

I'm posting this because I'm desperate and need some career advice. It's easily the most important forum post of my life! Sorry for the length, I promise every chunk is relevant.

Two and half months ago I was layed off as a VB6 programmer (1.5 years). It was the first pure software development job of my career. My past jobs were (in order of most recent): Electrical Controls Engineer (1 year), Automation Engineer (Designing and programming robotic palletizing systems) (3 years), and a Manufacturing Engineer intern at a fortune 100 company (2 years while attending university). I took the VB6 job because I wanted to get into software development, because frankly I'm not good at mechanics and electrical design which is why I made the career change away from that sort of thing, among other reasons.

I've always been very interested in programming, I took 3 semesters of C++ in high school but honestly had some trouble with grasping the concepts of linked lists, BSTs, and OOP compared to many of my peers which concerns me a little. It was a very gifted bunch however and they easily one some big statewide programming competition (I wasn't picked for the team).