1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

DeVry University or UAT

Currently I am a student at DeVry University studying Game Simulation and Programming. To me, the classes seem a little lackluster. I honestly just want to learn computer science and programming to find a good job when I graduate. I was hoping studying Game Programming could help me get into an entry level position at some studio. But now I'm not sure. I've discovered another University called University of Advancing Technology and they have a Game Programming degree as well in addition to another Advancing Computer Science degree. I don't have anyone in my life that I could look to for advice who is knowledgeable about these kinds of subjects so I figured I would post the question here.

What university and what program would help me find an job as a video game programming or any entry level job best?
  3. Banned (not really)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

A "game degree" sounds like something Sally Struthers is pitching after we hear "Do you want to make more money? Of course we all do!".

Of course, I'm not in the gaming industry, so maybe they carry more weight than I think. I'd be interested to hear some opinions on that.

Do you really want to be a game programming code monkey your entire career? A inter-disciplinary program that covers programming along with business or management topics would appeal to me more.

Comments on this post

• ptr2void agrees : Avoid DeVry. Seriously.
    -- Cigars, whiskey and wild, wild women. --
  5. Type Cast Exception

I'd argue that there's no such thing as an "entry level job". There are jobs that may be filled by entry level people, it's up to you to prove you can handle the job and also to beat down the doors to find the one person that is willing to give you that opportunity.
    medialint.com

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” - Dr. Seuss
  7. Sarcky