1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Interviewing a Programmer School Project!

Hello all! My name is Nathan, and I'm currently in my first semester of college in hopes of going on to major in Software Engineering and Business, with hopes to be a freelance programmer, like some of you.

I have a project for my Organizational Communication class to research my desired career path and a part of it is to interview a person in the field and write a paper about it. Unfortunately it's hard to do because of the informalities of the business, and was wondering if you could all collectively help me out. I will be sharing a link to this discussion for my teacher, so if we could keep that in mind that'd be great. So let's get started!

1. When it comes to freelance programming work, what is necessary (or extremely helpful) to begin work in the field. By this I mean, is there any certifications that will really stand out, is there a certain stress on the importance of communication skills, do you need to have the skills to manage time well, so on and so forth.

2. When it comes to finding work independently, how easy is it to find a new project to work on? Is it a dog eat dog world, or is there an abundance of work and everybody's happy?

3. What resources do you use to find new projects to work on? Ex: Craigslist, forums, face to face, etc.

4. Hows the working conditions? Hrs/Wk, mainly work from home? How often do you need to be working to make a competitive wage?

If you would like to keep your answers private and send them via email to me that would also be fine, and if you could just go on a little ramble about the life and times of an independant programmer that would be great, the more information I can collect the better. Thanks alot everyone in advance!
  3. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA