1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Which language next??

Hi,

This is my first post to this forum and I'm looking for some career advice.

I have a PhD in Mathematics and can currently program in Matlab, VBA, JavaScript, and a tintsy wintsy bit of Python, C and VB.

My question is what next?

Job advertisements I seen that have interested me ask for either C, C++, C#, Java or .NET or a combination.

I guess that means I need to learn OO programing. Which is the best language to start?

Should I study at a University/College or a Software training company? I have learnt from previous attempts that I'm not motivated enough for self study from a book!

Which would teach me the most and look best on a resume?

Thanks
    Jane
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

If you already know a teesy weensy bit of Python and C, turn that into a fuller knowledge of Python and C. Python is a good place to learn OOP by building a bridge from your current knowledge to a fuller understanding of what OOPsists of the C++/Java variety mean by the term "object".

Depending on your goals C++ or Java (or both -- but either one can easily become a career language, which is either good or bad, again, depending on your goals) would be a logical next expansion after filling out your Python/C knowledge. In particular, adding OOP constructs in a limited way to C programs can be very useful in interface development and Java is found everywhere, especially places it doesn't belong (another reason its a great job-finding language).

Anyway, the more you learn and especially the more experience you get working on projects you care about, the less you will care about acquiring a "next language". Highly esoteric languages aside (or pure paradigms with which you're totally unfamiliar, like pure FP or pure DP) most of the time you can hop in on a project effectively if you have three things: source, language/library reference and time.