1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What do you learn at university computer science courses?

I'm entering university this year and am currently choosing which courses this year.
    I plan to be a researcher using the tools of mathematics and computer science to work with projects in the field of social sciences and/or humanities. (Something like this guy at TED does: http://www.google.co.jp/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&ved=0CDoQtwIwAQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ted.com%2Ftalk s%2Fron_eglash_on_african_fractals.html&ei=U83hUbyAMsrUkgW01IAQ&usg=AFQjCNF3Ar5g0S1aQpiYUj4V5cb9wqAF Sg&sig2=Ko6LrYjn64Qs40-XsgNMTA&bvm=bv.48705608,d.dGI)
    I'm not interested in researches purely in the sciences; I want to work in collaboration with researchers in the social sciences/humanities.

To this end, I plan to take a mathematics major, computer science minor, and an anthropology minor.

Right now I am studying C by myself with a textbook I bought, and after that I'll study Python.

What I want to know is what university courses teach that are not in textbooks for individual languages.
    Also, if you could share experiences where what you learned at a course helped you in your career, that would be great too.

Thanks in advance.

edit:
    In addition, I'd like to know
    - what to study outside courses (eg as many languages as possible)
    - what extracurricular activities to do (my university recommends paid jobs)
    Last edited by 046; July 13th, 2013 at 05:03 PM.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

In my experience all the material I learned in school could be learned through a textbook or online. Though you could probably say that about anything that doesn't require expensive lab equipment.