Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What should I do with my life

Good morning forum.

I have never posted here before. Posts show that there are some smart members here. I post a general question and I hope for wise advise

My name is Edgar and I am from France. I live in New Zealand at this moment. I am a programmer and I make 75 K a year.

It has been a few months that I have been thinking about my life.

I am 32 M, single and no kids.

I get to save about $250 every week. That is 13 k a year. I so far have +40 k saved. This means by end of 2013 I will have about 43 k saved and by end of 2014 I will have about 65 cash including my freelance pays and if everything stays the same by the time I am 35 I will have 100 k saved.

If I fast forward a few years. I will have a good simple life. I will never be rich or have financial independence. There are a few ways to look at this. Someone may say:

1 - Be happy with what you have. Most people are in dept suffering. Things could be a LOT worse for you. You could be making coffee for 400 a week and no skills. You could be paying for a kid and a divorce and all these scenarios. But is it really what it is to life? Make a simple living and being happy that it could be worse?

2 - On the other hand someone may say. Hey fellow. There are many ways to make more money and be more successful. You need to get more skills or move or start own business.

I am not an investor or a businessman. I know 45 k can be gone in 5 minutes in the wrong market.

Some of you here are more experienced and successful with life. You may have some good advice for me. IF you do please post. You might have been in my position and made a plan that changed your life for ever (good or bad).

If you think you have anything that can help me, please share. I appreciate good advice and discussion.
  3. Code Monkey V. 0.9
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)