1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Managing Programmers

Hi, first post here, been reading articles here for quite a while. So I finally decided I would ask a question and this is a problem a lot of us run into.

Management of programmers seems to be one of the hardest things I have ever done and I know I am not alone in this. I have been a developer, professionally, since 1997 and have worked on my fair share of programming teams. In my past experiences I have noticed that mismanagement is, most of the time, responsibile for most delays, problems, job stress, and just about all negative aspects of the job as a whole. I know there are many forms of mismanagement but here I really want to talk about when a battle takes place between "perfect code" and "shorter timelines".

So I have been part of many projects, and this riddle seems to pop up all the time. Developers, for the most part, take all of the knowledge they have collected throughout their educational career and enter the workplace with an unrealistic set of expectations when it comes to programming for a company. I know because I was the same way. Programmers take great pride in their work and when they are told to ignore a problem to speed up lagging development timelines, the manager tends to run into a lot of resistance.