1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Mech engineering student - Love programming

Hi guys, I've been having this dilemma.

I am a mech. engineering student (senior year). I am an A student and I like science a lot, and I have a very creative mind so I am good at engineering design. I've also been working for the past 6 months for an engineering company as a mechanical engineer intern.

The problem is that Engineering school stress has been killing me, I can't take it anymore, I can't get along with some teachers and their education based in memorization (which I DON'T HAVE) is killing me.

My relationship with my girlfriend is suffering a lot due to all of this stress, and I rather go to work and do cool design projects than school. I am tired, I am definitely ready to graduate now.

My story with programming is completely different. I've been a self learner programmer since I was 12, I loved it. I started with some web developing and then moved to programming game servers for Ultima online. I also did some hacking, developed some Trojan horses and other sketchy things. I enjoyed it so much, it relaxed me, I would program for hours and be happy the whole day. It makes me feel really good. However, I had to stop because I was literally failing high school, so when I was about 16 I stopped programming, my parents took away my computer, I had to memorize and memorize and pass stupid history exams and things like that - what a waste of time and talent, I think I would be a really good developer if they wouldn't have bothered me.

I came to college in the U.S. for engineering, and little by little I started getting into programming again, it happened naturally, like inertia. I enjoyed it so much it is almost the only thing I want to do, when we have to handle data in labs I use Python/Numpy, while everyone else uses excel just to get done with it.