Results: What OS (type) do you prefer for programming? 

Voters
20 You may not vote on this poll

• Windows
    10  50.00%
  • Mac OS
    0%
  • Linux
    10  50.00%
  • Other (specify)
    0%
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What OS do you prefer for programming?

Hello.

What OS do you prefer when programming, for example, in PHP? (or any other language that is cross-platform and doesn't care about which OS you use)
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

I prefer Linux for programming, but as an employed programmer I actually use Windows (by choice). I voted for Linux anyway because that's what I would choose to use if business reasons didn't make Windows a better choice for me personally.

Mac OS has several UI quirks that annoy me (so does Windows, but I already know how to work around them and I don't know how to work around the ones on Mac), and I like Microsoft as a company more than I like Apple as a company.
    Last edited by E-Oreo; May 23rd, 2013 at 12:40 AM.
    PHP FAQ

Originally Posted by Spad
    Ah USB, the only rectangular connector where you have to make 3 attempts before you get it the right way around
  5. Lord of Dorkness

Central New York. Texan via Arizona, out of his element!
    I vote Windows because it has the best free C/C++ compiler/debugger I know of, and that's what's truly important to me.
    Functionality rules and clarity matters; if you can work a little elegance in there, you're stylin'.
    If you can't spell "u", "ur", and "ne1", why would I hire you? 300 baud modem? Forget I mentioned it.
    DaWei on Pointers Politically Incorrect.
  7. Sarcky

Oreo, what business reasons do you have to use windows?

I use linux at work and at home. I prefer it for its easy command-line access, more powerful file functionality, and overall ease of use and customizability.