1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Pro's and con's of an MIS and a CS degree

The title is exactly what I am looking for, what are the pro's and con's of a degree in each of these fields. See the reason for asking this is I am a older student (non traditional). I am looking for something that I can get a job right out of college. I have two years left out of a 4 year degree. I have done alot in the computer science field. My strengths seem to be more technical. Plus I do have very good management skills. I love to create websites, but I feel like I need more experience in this, I love the design aspect of it too. But when I am looking for internships to gain more experience it seems that I get looked over because of my age. I've almost gotten to the point where I will just start my own company, so I don't have to deal with with these companies.

So thus I want to know what the pro's and con's are or each if you are willing to share. Plus is one more of an advantage to get a degree vs the other.

Plus I have to know that I will get a good opportunities and not get looked over because of my age (being older).

Any insights of the pros and cons would be appreciated, plus feel free to comment on any of the other additional details that I have listed as well.

Also, In this one I am trying to get a side by side comparison of the two (at least mentally). Especially what I am looking for is what are the career avenues that I could take as well, ie the Pro's and Con's of those as well. Such as what are the careers that I could obtain having an MIS degree and what are the careers in the CS field, plus if they are on an incline (such as in need of) or a decline (such as not needed as much).

Please feel free to be as detailed as you would like.

Thanks for the help.
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

By MIS are you meaning Management of Information Systems?