1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question new website: where should I start?

I did not know where to ask my question.

I have this idea of making a single website for some bookstores that do not have their own websites. I want the website to list all the books available at each book store, where every book is available, at what bookstore and its price. If a certain book is sold out then the website gets updated instantly. The website basically connects to the database of the book store. Customers can purchase books online.

I am not a programmer, but I thought I should at least have an idea of the possibility of making such a website before approaching a web development company. I know it's possible to build a website for one bookstore.

What does making such a website requires? Would it cost a lot of money?

Thanks a lot.
  3. No Profile Picture

Sounds a lot like amazon...

They just laid off a few thousand employees...

Kidding...

My first thought is that while it sounds like a simple solution the reality is that its not.

Every store will have a different pos and ems system and you will need open access to these systems which will not ve easy to get as they are indeed likely propriatary and tge solution you describe is most likley an offering they already have available to the store owners as add on offering.

As for creating a new solution you would need to build a new point of sale system with an inventory management system that has api's that you can open up to a new e-commerce site. Then you will have to get the store owners to switch to your platform and convince them that the countless hours of updating inventory, pricing, location, etc. is worth paying you money for.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but this idea is ****.

But look at the bright side, in the world of tech startups you just embraced a valuable rule. FAIL FAST.

Sorry my friend. I'm sure your next idea will be better.
  5. No Profile Picture