1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Rails vs PHP (w/ framework)

I'm currently starting a new website and I have an important decision to make: **Rails or PHP (w/ a framework)**. I know that this question is not only subjective but has also been asked before (and in fact has many elaborated articles about). There are few reasons I want to ask this (again) tho:
    • My question is based on *personal circumstances*, hence there is a good chance answers will vary in this case (in fact I haven't had much luck finding answers to fit my situation).
    • Most answers I have found are outdated. Web-development is a dynamically changing field, there is a good chance that resources I found are no longer valid.

To make this easier (and less subjective) I split my question into several little ones that would hopefully be objective.

Background
    • I have many years of experience with PHP. This would help as I already know many little techniques,workarounds etc. that I can use and I am more comfortable with coding in PHP.
    • Previously to a month ago I have had no experience with MVC.
    • I have about 2 months of experience with Ruby (and one with Rails; mostly playing around to see how things work - nothing serious).
    • The only 'proper' framework for PHP I know is Yii and even with that, my knowledge is very limited (about a month although I feel pretty good with Yii).
    • The website I am developing will have some dynamic content (news systems, articles etc.), user authentication, payments online, event entries etc. It's certainly bigger than your average personal page, however it's not as big as stackoverflow or facebook.

Questions
    1. Which framework has the biggest future? I am looking to develop this website using language(/framework) that will give me the most (and the most valuable) experience.