1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Returning to the IT World (Job Advice)

Hello everyone,

I'm almost 30 years old and for the last 7 years I've been a Police Officer. I'm currently a qualified Detective investigating serious, complex, organised crime.

Prior to this I was a Web Developer - i.e. 7 years ago. I coded PHP, MySQL, CSS, HTML all by hand and on a Linux platform using Vim.

I would like advice as I'm considering getting back into IT with a view to leaving the Police to go into a job in this industry.

I'm going to try and re-learn what I used to do which will take a few months although I don't think it will be too difficult.

My questions are:

1. I have a pretty much clean slate. So re-training (or paying for a course) is an option. Would anyone recommend other things to do IT wise? E.g. Oracle, iPhone / Android app development? These are two areas I don't know anything about. It doesn't have to be web development.

2. In terms of learning PHP, MySQL again (well more refreshing my memory), what other languages are key at the moment, as in what else should I try to head towards learning?

I appreciate these my be stupid, basic and naieve questions but I'm just brainstorming at the moment and reviewing my options.

Thanks everyone,
    Red Rabbit
  3. Lord of the Dance
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Question is what part of the IT world you want to return to?

If you want to be in the development, I think it would be an good start to refresh what you have learned previously.
    But it also depends if you prefer/wants to make web-sites, desktop application or mobile application.

If you don't know or have little knowledge about Object-Oriented Programming (OOP), it can be a good investment to look at this too and understand how it works.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Thanks for your help.

I did use PHP5 when I last was developing so did utilise OOP.