1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Starting a new career, and need help :)

Hi Everybody,

I've recently decided to make a career change at the age of 38. Yes, I know what your thinking... but my body can't handle current job for to many more years, and I also have always wanted to do something with computers. When I was twenty i got a diploma in maintaining and repairing computers. My mistake was taking that course instead of programming, because I couldn't find a decent job with the skills I had learned.

So fast forward 20 years, and know I've decided to follow this path that I have always loved. I've started with Python for the last month, while also learning about HTML and CSS. I have enough money in the bank to study for the next year or so, and thats what I am going to do. So my question to anybody who can help me is: Do you think Python is the way to go? Oh yeah, my goal is to do something to do with building and maintaining websites while maybe doing some freelance programming on the side. So if you have any opinions on other ideas to consider, or what your experience is with your career and how you got there! That would be great ! Thanks
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

The industry is MOSTLY PHP, something like 75% of the web is PHP pages (including this one).

However, Python is a great language. Lots of young startups and super-high-tech places like social networks and search engines use Python for really heavy lift projects.

You shouldn't have an issue if you have a good portfolio.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin

"The greatest tragedy of this changing society is that people who never knew what it was like before will simply assume that this is the way things are supposed to be." -2600 Magazine, Fall 2002