1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Angry web3D for amatuer developers,not just big business

ABOUT WEB3D

About a year ago I started playing around with the vrml language and have found it most fascinating to work with.Ever since then I have heard much scepticism about it and its chances for survival.I would like to think that it's chances of survival are as good as the survival of the open source movement.I think that vrml and its newer manifestation as X3D is the best way to promote web 3D technology on the web in such a way that amatuer developers will be able to build their own 3d web pages.

I have seen the big software developers coming out with new web3D design tools that are so costly that only cash ready content creators can afford them.If this is to be so then only cash ready companies will have the advantage in the new web3D industry.It will be hard for amatuer web developers to compete fairly without these advanced content creation tools.

There is a wealth of freeware devlopment tools,free objects and tutorial resources available to the amatuer developer who is interested in developing web3D pages using the vrml language.It surprises me that so many amatuer web developers don't even know about the cool things that are availabe to them through the use of this very flexible language. I believe that not enough is being said where the potential of web3D is concerned and the capability of vrml or X3D in the use of its development.

I am Neil Rhule and I am a software engineer.I am also the developer of Neocropolis.com which is a web3D site presently developed with the use of vrml.
    http://www.neocropolis.com
  3. No Profile Picture
    PHP Coder

VRML is dead.

Flatland 3DML was much easier to use and overall much better, but now they plan to charge for it and they're time-bombing their betas, so I don't want anything to do with it anymore.