Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Home Development Environment - should I use Apache/Linux?

I am planning to do some development using PHP/MySQL. I assume that the best hosting environment for my site will be Apache/Linux - though I am pretty new to this stuff, so any comments will be gratefully received.
    If my site is to be hosted using Apache/Linux does it make sense to use this as a development environment at home?
    I assume my options are:
    PHP/MySQL/PWS/Windows (I have Windows ME), or
    PHP/MySQL/Apache/Windows
    PHP/MySQL/Apache/Linux
    What are the pro's and con's? I am looking for as simple a life as possible, both in terms of setting up the environment, developing, then making it all work in the hosts environment.
    Thanks for your help.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Hi

As you say, you will be ultimately using an environment with PHP/MySQL/S***Apache/Linux, then it would be best to use that for your development platform also. Although it does not hurt to develop in many different environments, centering on the environment that you will be using should be your first chose.

As for developing on a windows platform, many will tell you S***Apache is the way to go, and in many cases it will probably be the best way, but I don't believe that....

There are far better servers out there that perform better, than Apache, IIS and few other of the better know one's....

You could also take the time to look at other servers for your development, I say this because you said.......

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I am looking for as simple a life as possible, both in terms of setting up the environment, developing, then making it all work in the hosts environment.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++=

There are a few other servers out there that would be great for what you want.....

If you do look.....