Thread: Job advice

Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Job advice

I need some job advice, as a recent college graduate (m.s. in computer science).

I currently work as a contractor for "Company A". I currently make about 2/3 of what I believe I should be earning. However, after the 3-6 month contract, "Company A" will be offering me a permanent position (about 99% probability), and I was told the probable salary would still be about 5/7 of what I should be earning. Apparently though, the company assumes the perks (which are quite nice I must admit) are worth about 1/7 of that salary I should be earning. So altogether, if I took the position I would be earning approximately 6/7 what I feel I should.

So I have to be honest, I don't particularly like this job much, and was originally planning to let the contract run out, and try to get something else lined up with a more reasonable paycheck to transition to immediately. My contract expires sometime between October and January, and I haven't had much time to spend looking for anything else yet.

However, one big thing came up over the last few weeks. "Company A" is actually owned by "Company B". And "Company B" is owned by "Company C". "C" is a very large company, and happens to be the source of most of the perks available if I were to sign a contract with "A", besides a few that are local to just "A". The big news around here though, is that "C" is divesting of "B" with a goal of selling "B" by January, either as a whole, or in parts (like, "A" could go one place, and the rest elsewhere for instance). "A" and "B" are both doing very well, so I'm not worried about job security.