1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

A proposal; has anyone done this?

I am a writer, working on my first book, which is in support of the occupy movement. In thinking about our economy and how it might better work, i have come to think quite a bit about economics, and how it is studied. The absence of the ability of economists to test their theories under laboratory conditions seems to me to be a major problem in determining which economic ideas actually function, and I feel I have come up with an innovative solution to this problem.

Please read the article here, on gamasutr, "A virtual economic theory how mmos"

Excerpt "Economic theory is based on the notions of Perfect Market Competition, the ideal conditions for economic behavior that, sadly, elude us in the real world.
    However, in virtual worlds, many of the otherwise untenable features manifest themselves: there tend to be no barriers to entry, as every player has the same intrinsic capability to engage in any of the game's internal economic activities (harvesting, crafting, trading, etc.); factors of production tend to be highly mobile in most games (once you can craft something, you can do so anywhere, at any time, without an investment in capital); products are homogeneous (all healing potions are exactly the same; all crafted Scorpion Harnesses are identical); and there are constant returns to scale (no matter how many potions you make, it still costs the same to produce each one).
    This means that many of the core theories of economics, those of supply, demand, marginal revenue and the like, can be applied fairly directly to MMORPG virtual economies. "

The idea; My proposal is to make a free to play MMO (funded by economic research groups) for the express purpose of using the servers to "field test" economic theories.